lunchtime rant.

I’m so over people telling me what’s bad for me.

I don’t get enough sun: bad

I get some sun: bad

I eat carbs: bad

I eat fat: bad

I eat protein: uhh … might be okay (but only if it’s not red meat, right? Or animal products? Depends on who you ask)

I don’t smoke: good (so they say)

I drink alcohol: bad (but red wine is good sometimes?)

I take meds: bad

I don’t take meds: bad (for me)

I eat too much: bad (diabetes = heart attack!)

I eat too little: bad (anorexia = heart attack!)

The list goes on and on.

Truth is, moderation is key – as is quality of life. You can die in a car accident at the age of 21 having smoked and drank, or you can die of cancer at the same age even though you did none of the blacklisted “bad” things. I’ve seen it happen both ways. What I think really matters is that you live NOW and do the best you can with what you are given. We can’t control other people, their mistakes, or our own genes (at least not completely). All we can do is be aware and live for the moment with a tiny fragment of thought looking toward an uncertain future. In reality, extremes are the things in question. I’m going to go tanning – in moderation – and I will eat my alfredo sauce – in moderation. These things, in and of themselves, are not bad. Thinking they are bad or taking them to the extreme? Choices I’m opting not to make – or at least trying not to. We will all die of something. It’s a fact. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to expedite the process, but let’s not stress ourselves about “good” and “bad” to the point that we develop anxiety complexes and kill ourselves with unnecessary stress. Live your life the best way you can and try not to harm others in the process and I think you’ll be alright – not good or bad – just alright. Sigh. You can agree or disagree with me – that’s fine … neither good nor bad … just fine.

